Skip navigation

dean young writes funny and sometimes good poems

this morning, easter sunday, I got up and found Dean Young’s email. That’s right, dean young who has written a splattering of funny books of poetry which usually win all kinds of awards and have hand drawn acid-esque covers (except for embryoyo which is still funny but doesn’t have a cover drawn by dean young and, as far as i know, hasn’t won any awards because it was published by Believer Books which, maybe, isn’t good enough to win big awards.

I emailed dean young and asked him if i should quit the mfa program, and I also asked him about his interesting picture on the university of texas website. See, Dean Young is the William Livingston Chair of Poetry at the University of Texas, Austin. Very important stuff.

It may take Dean Young a few weeks to get back to me because he’s so busy, being the William Livingston Chair of Poetry at the University of Texas, Austin and all. I told him that if he was too busy he could respond to me over Spring break

young

Dean Young,

I’ve read quite a few of your books and I think most of them are pretty good and also funny. I also found your picture on the University of Texas website and I think that’s funny too but I don’t really understand why you’re holding a picture frame in it. Would it be ironic if you framed that picture of you holding a picture frame, or is it a metaphor? I’m being serious, I want to know.

But, Dean Young, I’m really writing to you because I want to quit the MFA program at Antioch University, Los Angles and I don’t know if I should.

If you were me, Dean Young, would you quit the MFA program at Antioch University, Los Angeles.

I know you’re a busy guy with writing all your books and being the William Livingston Chair of Poetry at the University of Texas in Austin and everything, but I really hope you could find a few minutes to tell me what you would do in my situation. I think that maybe you could even save my letter and probably respond to me over spring break when that happens soon because you won’t be too busy then, I hope.

Thanks Dean Young, I really appreciate it.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

